Kindness Counts

One of my favorite quotes has always been:

Be kind. For everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.

And let me just say…from personal experience…IT MATTERS.

You never know when your smiling at a stranger saved their day, or when writing someone a note or complimenting them was something they actually desperately needed. I try my best to be as kind as possible to people…it just makes me happy! But sometimes I’ve wondered if being kind or going out of my way to be nice actually mattered. I knew it made me feel good inside, but was it doing much of anything for the other person?

There’s many circumstances where we will never know what doing something nice accomplished in someone else’s life…but…I just want to say, I’ve had a rough several weeks. I feel like I’m standing on the edge of a cliff–on the verge of everything changing. I’m sure in the end it will be good and sunny, but it may be rather gray and stormy for a while before I see the sunlight break through.  I’ve been trying to smile while facing a very uncertain future, but it’s been really, really hard.

What I want to say is that even though it has been hard, I’ve bumped into some incredibly nice, nice people that have helped me hold onto hope, made me smile or helped me believe everything was going to be okay. Oh my goodness, they were my heroes and some of them had no idea!

So THANK YOU to the kind people of the world! Your niceness and kindness counts…so don’t ever stop! You are making a bigger difference in the world than you know!

=)

6 thoughts on “Kindness Counts

  1. Being kind certainly matters. It’s a mark of strong character. I hope the uncertainty in your life is resolved. Not knowing the path is tough. If you have to make a decision, do your best to make it a good one – then don’t look back.

Leave a Reply

