Stranded/photo friday

Have you ever had a moment where you were stranded and made the most of it?

On my way to work, this question was presented to me via the radio. I was like…huh…that is a great question!

When I was 5 years old, my Dad was stationed to a remote area in Alaska. We packed up everything in our brown and tan Volkswagen Van (it was pretty epic)  and left our home by the

photo credit: slowrobot

photo credit: slowrobot Haha! I love this…

pacific ocean and headed north. Just to state an obvious fact….Alaska is VERY far away. I’m not sure how long it took us to get from the middle of California to Alaska but it was an eternity to my 5 year old brain. I remember being restless and just longing to run around and explore. On some lonely road in the middle of Canada at about 2 a.m. our trusty van decided to throw in the towel. All I remember is waking up squished with my sisters in a seat in a tractor trailer and hearing the news that our van was being towed to the nearest (which wasn’t very near) mechanic shop.  The mechanics looked over the car and it was bad. So bad we had to get a new engine. Which in the middle of nowhere in Canada would take two weeks. We were stranded. When I was little I was one of those kids who was obsessed with adventure and had a wild imagination so the idea of being stranded was thrilling.  For several days we camped out at the mechanic shop, sleeping in the van. My Dad took me and my sisters on little excursions into the woods behind us and we ate food made over a camp fire and talked and laughed. I felt like I was an explorer or a pioneer as we lived off of rice and coffee.  One of the employees at the mechanic’s shop took pity on us. He insisted we stay at his families house in one of the spare bedrooms until the engine for our van arrived. The mechanic shop employee’s family took us in, like we were apart of his family or old friends. They were AWESOME. I remember going on a trip to see an massive waterfall and playing with their kids and seeing the Northern Lights and eating the best waffles I have ever had. Being stranded we met an amazing family that took strangers into their home, we roughed it in the Canadian wilderness, and made memories that I still remember being as fun and exciting.

Sometimes being stranded can be a great thing. It gets us off course a little, it makes us improvise, it makes memories.

Do you have a story about being stranded? Where’s the craziest place you have you been stranded?Photo Friday

photo credit: a taste of Alaska  Photo Friday: Aurora Borealis, The Northern Lights

photo credit: a taste of Alaska
Photo Friday: Aurora Borealis, The Northern Lights

Leave a Reply

