Life Lessons from Gone With the Wind

Yesterday I watched a movie I haven’t watched in …..FOREVER. Even though its been probably over 10 years, I remembered a few things about Gone With the Wind…giant hoop skirts, southern plantations, Clark Gable as Rhett Butler, Vivian Leigh as Scarlet O’Hara, and I remembered the movie was sad. After watching it last night, I was struck by the sadness of it all. It wasn’t just a little sad, it was heartbreaking! I felt like bursting into tears. There was so much loss, so many words not said, so many lives torn apart. I really couldn’t stop thinking about this movie vivian leahfor hours into the night…and I took some things to heart.

Practical Life Lessons from Gone With the Wind:

Don’t chase after the Ashley’s in life and miss the great guy you have right in front of you.This is probably the biggest lesson I got out of this movie. Don’t waste your time on a person that is with someone else (let alone married…never do that!!). Scarlet had told Ashley her feelings before he ever even got married…he could’ve chosen Scarlet, but he didn’t! If the person you like doesn’t like you…MOVE ON! Stop pining over the dream of them…you could be missing out on the person who is quite perfect for you. “No, I don’t think I’ll kiss you, although you need kissing badly. That’s what’s wrong with you. You should be kissed and often, and by someone who knows how.” -Rhett Butler.

If you are an Ashley…stop it! If there is someone in your life that is your friend…maybe even your ex…maybe you even care about them…BUT you don’t see a future with them (and you get married!!!) stop stringing them along. It might be hard to do because you don’t want to hurt them but you are doing far more damage by letting them hope and not be able to move onto better things! “Ashley, you should have told me years ago that you loved her and not me, and not left me dangling with your talk of honor. But you had to wait till now, now when Melly’s dying. To show me that I could never be any more to you than, than this Watling woman is to Rhett … And I’ve loved something that doesn’t really exist. Somehow, I don’t care. Somehow, it doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter one bit.” -Scarlet to Ashley

Don’t be too proud to tell people, “I’m sorry.” If only Scarlet would have learned this earlier….how different her life would have turned out. Own up to your mistakes and apologize…before it is too late!“My darling, you’re such a child. You think that by saying “I’m sorry,” all the past can be corrected.”-Rhett to Scarlet.

Money isn’t everything. When we become obsessed and willing to do anything for money…we slowly become poisoned. Scarlet lived for money and it slowly destroyed her. When Scarlet married Rhett she became filthy rich. She could have anything she could possibly want. Yet her life seemed so depressing. There was no laughter no kindness and very little love. “I liked to think that Bonnie was you, a little girl again, before the war, and poverty had done things to you. She was so like you, and I could pet her and spoil her, as I wanted to spoil you. But when she went, she took everything.”– Rhett to Scarletclark gable

Learn how to communicate. Scarlet and Rhett were constantly crossing signals. Take a risk and tell your significant other how you really feel and what they mean to you. Rhett Butler: “I’m leaving you, my dear. All you need now is a divorce and your dreams of Ashley can come true. “
Scarlett: “Oh, no! No, you’re wrong, terribly wrong! I don’t want a divorce. Oh Rhett, but I knew tonight, when I… when I knew I loved you, I ran home to tell you, oh darling, darling!”
Rhett Butler: “Please don’t go on with this, Leave us some dignity to remember out of our marriage. Spare us this last.”
Scarlett: “This last? Oh Rhett, do listen to me, I must have loved you for years, only I was such a stupid fool, I didn’t know it. Please believe me, you must care! Melly said you did.”
Rhett Butler: “I believe you. What about Ashley Wilkes?”
Scarlett: “I… I never really loved Ashley.”
Rhett Butler: “You certainly gave a good imitation of it, up till this morning. No Scarlett, I tried everything. If you’d only met me half way, even when I came back from London.”
Scarlett: “I was so glad to see you. I was, Rhett, but you were so nasty.”
Rhett Butler: “And then when you were sick, it was all my fault… I hoped against hope that you’d call for me, but you didn’t.”
Scarlett: “I wanted you. I wanted you desperately but I didn’t think you wanted me.”

Don’t give up! Scarlet is a person that never gave up. She is a fighter. Fight for the people you love and never give up on them (other than if they are an Ashley). “I can’t let him go. I can’t. There must be some way to bring him back. Oh, I can’t think about this now! I’ll go crazy if I do! I’ll think about it tomorrow. But I must think about it. I must think about it. What is there to do? What is there that matters? Tara! Home. I’ll go home. And I’ll think of some way to get him back.”-Scarlet O’Hara

 

Leave a Reply

