So…this is probably the most random post I’ve ever done.

So...this is probably the most random post I've ever done.

Photo credit: Google Images/campaign against landmines

I was at work searching for art for a newsletter bite on Ketchup and Mustard. During my searching, I found THIS. A ketchup packet that gives a representation of what happens when someone steps on a land mine. =( I have never seen anything like this before, (maybe I am just out of the loop!) I could not stop looking at it so I decided to share via blog/social media.

At first I wasn’t sure if this was too much…and I am still not sure!(I do think this is fabulous marketing/graphic designing. Well, not for selling ketchup-I actually don’t think I would be able to par-take in ketchup from one of these packets, it would be really sad!)

My first thought when I saw this was “This is so sad/horrible!” but the next thought was, “I want to help stop this!”  I do have to say that, even though this marketing is rather gruesome and kinda graphic it really does complete it’s mission and goal. It raises questions and awareness very quickly. I’ve heard that sometimes you have to look square on to the “ugly” to be able to  fix it.Right after seeing this I wanted to find more out about helping getting land mines removed from these 89 countries. (if you do want to help I believe the website to go to is: CALM, New Zealand Campaign Against Landmines)

Your Thoughts: did they go too far in marketing their cause or did they nail it?

Leave a Reply

